you are here : home » news »

Environment Committee to discuss climate change with Trócaire and the IIEA.

16 Jul 2012

The Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht will discuss climate change with Éamonn Meehan, Deputy Director, Trócaire, and Gina Hanrahan, Climate and Environment Researcher, Institute for International and European Affairs (IIEA) at its meeting tomorrow, 17th July.

Committee Chairman Ciaran Lynch said: "Gina Hanrahan is co-author of the IIEA's report Why Legislate? Designing a Climate Law for Ireland which examines three published models of climate legislation and assesses the implications of these bills for the design of a climate law for Ireland. Aid agency Trócaire has also been an advocate of a strong Irish climate change bill.

In December Minister Hogan told our Committee that he would provide a roadmap for the introduction of climate change legislation and introduce the Heads of the Climate Change Bill by the end of 2012.

We will continue to work with the Minister and his department in helping to formulate policy on this very important issue. We are very keen to hear from interested parties who wish to contribute to the debate on the issue of formulating climate change legislation and tomorrow we will have an opportunity to get the perspective of IIEA and Trócaire on the Issue."

This meeting will follow the appearance of Minister O'Dowd at the Committee at approximately 3.30pm on Tuesday, 17th July, in Committee Room 4, Leinster House 2000.

Committee proceedings can be followed live at:

Committee Membership

Joint Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht

Deputies: James Bannon TD (Fine Gael); Paudie Coffey TD (Fine Gael); Niall Collins TD (Fianna Fáil); Noel Coonan (Fine Gael) Leas-Chathaoirleach; Marcella Corcoran Kennedy TD (Fine Gael); Luke Flanagan TD (Independent); Kevin Humphreys TD (Labour); Ciarán Lynch TD (Labour) Cathaoirleach; Sandra Mc Lellan TD (Sinn Féin); Tony Mc Loughlin TD (Fine Gael); Michelle Mulherin TD (Fine Gael); Catherine Murphy TD (Independent); Gerald Nash TD (Labour); Brian Stanley TD (Sinn Féin); Robert Troy TD (Fianna Fáil).

Senators: Senator Cáit Keane (Fine Gael) Senator Denis Landy (Labour); An Seanadóir Fiach Mac Conghail (Neamhspleách); Senator Catherine Noone (Fine Gael); An Seanadóir Labhrás Ó Murchú (Fianna Fáil): Senator Ned O'Sullivan (Fianna Fáil).

Oireachtas Website

Digital Revolutionaries