you are here : home » news »

Mass lobby, a great sucess

17 Jun 2010

On the 2nd of June Friends of the Earth as members of the Stop Climate Chaos coalition took part in a Mass Lobby on climate change. Friends of the Earth members and supporters from all over the country came to Buswells hotel across from the Dail to meet with their TDs. We were asking TDs to commit to supporting a strong climate law in the Dail, when the Bill comes before them this Autumn.

Over 70 TDs signed the climate commitment in Buswells on the day, and several have sent in signed climate commitments since then. Disappointingly Minister Gormley signed the Climate Commitment only after scribbling out by hand the words, "not by buying "carbon offset credits". While it is good to have support on the other points from him we are not happy that the Minister thinks its ok to buy our way out of the problem instead of reducing emissions here in Ireland.

John Gormley's climate commitment










The list of TDs who haven't yet signed the climate commitment is below, if your TDs is among them get in touch with us ( 01 639 4652) and we can help you to arrange a meeting with them locally and ask them to sign.


Bobby Aylward (FF)
John McGuinness (FF)
M.J. Nolan (FF)
Mary White (GP)
Philip Hogan (FG)
Brendan Smith (FF)
Rory O'Hanlon (FF)
Seymour Crawford (FG)
Tony Killeen (FF)
Michael Ahern (FF)
Bernard Allen (FG)
Billy Kelleher (FF)
Noel O'Flynn (FF)
Batt O'Keeffe (FF)
Michael Creed (FG)

Deirdre Clune (FG)
Micheál Martin (FF)
Christy O'Sullivan (FF)
Jim O'Keeffe (FG)
P.J. Sheehan (FG)
Jim McDaid (FF)
Joe McHugh (FG)
Niall Blaney (FF)
Mary Coughlan (FF)
Bertie Ahern (FF)
Cyprian Brady (FF)
John Curran (FF)
Mary Harney (FF)

Michael Kennedy (FF)
Richard Bruton (FG)
Michael Woods (FF)
Tommy Broughan (Lab)
Noel Ahern (FF)
Pat Carey (FF)
Alan Shatter (FG)

Michael Mulcahy (FF)
Seán Ardagh (FF)
Conor Lenihan (FF)
Brian Lenihan (FF)
Leo Varadkar (FG)
Barry Andrews (FF)
Ciarán Cuffe (GP)
Mary Hanafin (FF)
Michael P. Kitt (FF)
Noel Treacy (FF)
Ulick Burke (FG)
Éamon Ó Cuív (FF)
Frank Fahy (FF)
Padraic McCormack (FG)
Martin Ferris (SF)
Tom McEllistrim (FF)
Jackie Healy-Rae (Ind)
John O'Donoghue (FF)
Tom Sheahan (FG)
Bernard Durkan (FG)
Michael Fitzpatrick (FF)
Jack Wall (Lab)
Seán Ó Fearghail (FF)
Brian Cowen (FF)
John Moloney (FF)
Kieran O'Donnell (FG)
Michael Noonan (FG)
Peter Power (FF)
Willie O'Dea (FF)
Dan Neville (FG)
James Bannon (FG)
Mary O'Rourke (FF)
Willie Penrose (Lab)
Arthur Morgan (SF)
Dermot Ahern (FF)
Séamus Kirk (FF)
Beverley Flynn (Ind)
Dara Calleary (FF)
Enda Kenny (FG)

Noel Dempsey (FF)
Denis Naughten (FG)
Frank Feighan (FG)
Michael Finneran (FF)
Jimmy Devins (FF)
Máire Hoctor (FF)
Michael Lowry (Ind)
Noel Coonan (FG)
Martin Mansergh (FF)
Mattie McGrath (FF)
Tom Hayes (FG)
Brendan Kenneally (FF)
John Deasy (FG)

Brendan Howlin (Lab)
John Browne (FF)
Michael W. D'Arcy (FG)
Paul Kehoe (FG)
Seán Connick (FF)
Billy Timmins (FG)
Dick Roche (FF)

Digital Revolutionaries