you are here : home » about us » the board

The Board of Directors

Friends of the Earth Ireland is governed by a Board of Directors. The current members of the Board are as follows.

The Chairperson

Dr. Cara Augustenborg is an environmental scientist and communicator with expertise on a broad range of environmental issues. She lectures in 'Climate Change and the Environment' at University College Dublin and in 'Business and the Environment' at Trinity College Dublin. Cara conducted her doctoral research at Teagasc and was the Irish Ambassador for Ben & Jerry's Climate Change College. She blogs regularly about Ireland's environment on her personal website.

Dr. Cara Augustenborg, FoE Chair

The members

Anna Heussaff is Vice Chair for the Board of Directors. She's a novelist and worked for many years as producer/director and researcher in RTÉ television and radio.

John Brennan is a farmer and managing director at Leitrim Organic Farmers Cooperative.

John Sweeney is Professor Emeritus in NUI Maynooth and is one of Ireland's leading climate scientists.

Nessa Ní Chasaide is Coordinator of Debt and Development Coalition Ireland (DDCI). She previously worked for Dóchas, Trócaire and Oxfam.

Niamh Garvey is Sustainable Livelihoods and Environmental Policy Officer in Trócaire.

Sian Cowman is a global development worker, specializing in community resilience to climate change. She studied inernational development in UCC and has worked for Friends of the Earth and the Democracy Center in Bolivia.

Peader Kirby is Professor Emeritis of International Politics and Public Policy at University of Limerick.

Donal Geoghegan is head of public affairs for Early Childhood Ireland and a policy consultant for Greenpeace Europe and former goverment programme manager. 


Digital Revolutionaries